Auditor General's Office.—This Office originated in 1878 (SC 1878, c. 7) and currently functions under the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1952, c. 116). The Auditor General is responsible for examining accounts relating to the Consolidated Revenue Fund and to public property, and for reporting annually to the House of Commons the results of his examinations. He also audits the accounts of various Crown corporations and other instrumentalities.

Board of Broadcast Governors.—This Board, established under the provisions of the Broadcasting Act which was assented to on Sept. 6, 1958, is given authority to regulate radio and television broadcasting in Canada. The Board has authority to regulate the establishment and operation of both public and private broadcasting stations and networks of stations. Applications for licences to establish new broadcasting stations, for changes in the facilities of existing stations or for changes in the ownership or in the share structure of licensees are referred to the Board by the Minister of Transport for a recommendation before being dealt with. The Board has three full-time and twelve part-time members and reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State.

Board of Grain Commissioners.—Constituted in 1912 under the Canada Grain Act, now the Canada Grain Act, 1930 (RSC 1952, c. 25), the Board of Grain Commissioners provides general supervision over grain handling in Canada by licensing elevator operators, inspecting and weighing grain en route to and shipped from terminal elevators, and other services. The Board, comprising a Chief Commissioner and two Commissioners, has authority to inquire into any matter relating to the grading and weighing of grain, deductions for dockage or shrinkage, deterioration of any grain during storage or treatment, unfair or discriminatory operation of a grain elevator, etc. The Board publishes its regulations in the *Canada Gazette* and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Agriculture.

Board of Transport Commissioners.—The powers of this Board, which was organized as the Board of Railway Commissioners in 1904, have been extended from time to time until today it has regulatory and judicial functions dealing with almost all aspects of railway activity including location, construction and operation of lines, rates and charges. It is also entrusted with the regulation of other transportation and communication agencies, including express companies, telegraph companies, telephone companies other than those provincially or municipally controlled, international bridges and tunnels and inland shipping. The Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Canadian Government Specifications Board.—This is an interdepartmental body composed of the Deputy Heads of 24 Federal Government departments and agencies. The Board operates under the auspices of the National Research Council through the medium of committees in which government and industry co-operate on a voluntary basis. The Board prepares specifications in commodity fields and for materials, processes and equipment required by government agencies, and arranges for necessary testing and research. An Index of Specifications is available on request to the CGSB Secretary, National Research Council, Ottawa.

Canadian Pension Commission.—This Commission, established in 1933 by amendments to the Pension Act (RSC 1952, c. 207), replaced the Board of Pension Commissioners, the first organization created to deal solely with war pensions for service in Canada's Armed Forces. The Commission's main function is the administration of the Pension Act under which it adjudicates upon all claims for pension in respect of disability or death arising out of service in Canada's Armed Forces; and Parts I to X inclusive of the Civilian War Pensions and Allowances Act, which provide for the payment of pensions in respect of death or disability arising out of civilian service related to the World War II effort. It also adjudicates on claims for pension under various other measures, including the Flying Accidents Compensation Order and the RCMP Continuation Act; authorizes and pays monetary grants accompanying certain gallantry awards bestowed on members of the Armed Forces; and administers various trust funds established by private individuals for the benefit of veterans and their dependants.

It consists of eight to twelve Commissioners and up to five *ad hoc* Commissioners appointed by the Governor in Council. Its chairman has the rank and powers of a Deputy Head of a department and the Commission reports to Parliament through the Minister of Veterans Affairs.

Chief Electoral Office.—This Office was established in 1920 under the provisions of the Dominion Elections Act, now the Canada Elections Act (RSC 1960, c. 39, and amendments thereto), and is responsible for the conduct of all federal elections as well as the elections of members of the Northwest Territories Council and of the Yukon Territory Council. In addition, it conducts any vote taken under the Canada Temperance Act. The Chief Electoral Officer reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State.

Department of Citizenship and Immigration.—This Department was constituted in December 1949 (RSC 1952, c. 67) and came into existence on Jan. 18, 1950 under the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration. Most departmental work is carried on through four branches. The Canadian Citizenship Branch assists governmental and non-governmental agencies engaged or interested in facilitating the adjustment and integration of newcomers and in making Canadians conscious of their privileges and responsibilities as citizens. The Canadian Citizenship Registration